Nestled around its two squares, Pontrieux extends along to the marina, the starting point for a sailing trip to the Trieux estuary and Bréhat archipelago. With its viaduct and two bridges, Pontrieux is a joy to explore during the day, but after nightfall too, thanks to the beautifully-illuminated lavoirs, half-timbered and stone houses, 18th century fountain and the house known as the ‘Tour Eiffel’ which dates from the 16th century.
Pontrieux has been an important site for trade since medieval times, and served the town of Guingamp until the construction of the bridge at Lézardrieux in 1840. The arrival of the railway at the end of the 19th century led to the development of industrial activities based around wood, cardboard and flax. These goods were distributed by sea around the whole of Europe and the lively port saw sailing boats from Denmark and England side-by-side with Breton fishing boats setting off for Iceland.
Visite guidée : Petits secrets et grandes anecdotes à Pontrieux
Here’s a good tip !
Try the Pontrieux visitor app, or pick up a leaflet from the Tourist Office ! (in French)